The Catholic Church celebrates the 7 Sacraments as instituted by Jesus Christ. They are the way in which God gives his sanctifying grace to his people. The Sacraments are grouped into three categories; Sacraments of Initiation, Sacraments of Healing, and Sacraments of Mission/Vocation.

Sacraments of Initiation

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Eucharist

Sacraments of Healing

  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Reconciliation

Sacraments of Mission / Vocation

  • Marriage
  • Holy Orders

RSS Vatican News

  • Vatican Dicastery calls for efforts to confront water-related issues March 30, 2020
    The Vatican Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development publishes a document on the need to safeguard and care for the planet’s water reservoirs and provide clean water to all.
  • Vatican Museum: Beauty that unites! 1 March 30, 2020
    Beauty creates communion. It unites onlookers from a distance, uniting past, present and future. Pope Francis has recalled this on a number of occasions. The Church has always translated the universality of the Good News into the language of art. From this premise, this dramatic moment in history characterized by uncertainty and isolation, gives rise […]
  • Pontifical Academy for Life: pandemic challenges human fraternity March 30, 2020
    In a Note on the Covid-19 emergency, the Pontifical Academy for Life says the pandemic is an opportunity for the “spirit of humanism to influence institutional culture”.
  • Coronavirus: Earth’s unlikely ally March 30, 2020
    The changes in human behavior due to the Covid-19 virus pandemic are yielding unintended benefits to the planet